M.A. “Tonette” Krousel-Wood MD, MSPH, FACPM, FAHA is Professor of Medicine in the Tulane School of Medicine, Professor of Epidemiology in the Tulane School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, and serves in several leadership roles at Tulane including the Associate Provost for the Health Sciences at Tulane University. She is actively engaged as the principal and co-investigator in NIH-funded clinical research and clinical trials focused on overall and sex differences in adherence to prescribed therapies for chronic diseases, management of hypertension, and health outcomes and implementations research focused on women and men with chronic cardiometabolic diseases in rural and underserved areas.

Access the lecture via the following information:
Meeting URL: https://meetings.webex.com/collabs/#/meetings/joinbynumber

Meeting Number: 190 637 608

She has presented her research findings nationally, and internationally and has collectively published over 130 peer-reviewed articles, reports and book chapters. In addition to her own research, she is committed to training the next generation of scientists and co-directs pre- and post-doctoral career development programs including serving as the Principal Investigator and Research Director for the NIH K12 Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women’s Health (BIRCWH) faculty career development award. She also leads the MD/MPH program at Tulane—it is one of the oldest and largest programs of its kind in the US with over 1000 graduates since inception and serves as a model for combined medical and public health training of future physicians nationwide.

She has held numerous leadership positions nationally including Chair of the National Institutes of Health Study Section, Health Services Organization and Delivery, President of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation, President of Delta Omega national public health honorary society, Chair and President of the American Board of Preventive Medicine, and member of the National Institutes of Health Center for Scientific Review (NIH-CSR) Advisory Council. She is currently President-elect of the Board of Regents for the American College of Preventive Medicine and the recent recipient of the Tinsley Harrison Founders’ Medal Award for the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation. She is a Fellow of the American College of Preventive Medicine and Fellow of the American Heart Association.